top of page

I Choose Joy


I'm choosing joy today. I know it sounds somewhat cliché, but as I was going about my morning this phrase spoke to my spirit. "Make a conscious effort to choose joy today." At that very moment I had a decision to make.

The Apostle Paul sums up the characteristics (fruit) of a life led by the Holy Spirit in Galatians 5:22-23, "But the fruit of the Spirit is love, joy, peace, longsuffering, gentleness, goodness, faith, meekness, temperance: against such there is no law." Did you see it listed there? Joy.

Everyday, several times a day actually, we get to choose our response to what life throws at us. Sure we could list a million reasons we should feel down. Jesus even warned us that in this world we would have tribulation but to take courage! (John 16:33.) So we can choose to respond in the flesh, or we can choose to walk in the Spirit (Galatians 5:16). It's a choice.

The joy of the Lord is our strength (Nehemiah 8:10). We need strength each day just to live this life. If you're looking for your circumstances to make you happy, you may be waiting a long time on this side of heaven. Choose to look to the hills from where your help comes. Lean on the Rock of your Salvation. Don't stop at this chapter in life and sit in the valley. Read the end of The Book - we win!

Do something to make the devil mad today - choose joy!

Philippians 4:4, "Rejoice in the Lord always: and again I say, Rejoice."

Live virtuously, my friends!

Angela Valentine

Founder, The Virtuous Businesswomen's Network

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page